book review

Book Review – The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing – Melissa Bank

The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank

A short and charming novel on growing up, learning to love, and dealing with workplace culture. Bank has written something sweet; a series of vignettes that describe the life of Jane, our heroine, who navigates through life by asking questions I often ask myself on a regular basis such as, Why does this person at work hate me so much? and Is this what I want to do with my life? 

The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing is quirky with a format that is easy to read and get into. Humour touches all the right places and Jane herself is a compelling character whose fears and hopes and thoughts I see mirrored in my own life.

All in all a welcome break from reading about Vikings, Saxons, battle strategies, horror, and gore (not all in one book though how cool would that be?)

Succulent plant added for reference – I killed the last one by over-watering it (overbearingly over-watered) so fingers crossed this one makes it out alive.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing – Melissa Bank

  1. I guess I also need to read this book. Usually I read science fiction, but already tired of this genre. I want something light to read. Thank you.
    By the way, succulent plant looks great 🙂

Leave a Reply

